Lexd's Blog

I write about what I want!

Confession … and it’s not a positive one January 8, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — lexd @ 7:10 pm

I apologize in advance for the negative tone of this post. I’ve made an active effort over the past 12-16 months to really eliminate the snarky, tempermental, complaint-type posts from my Twitter feed, Facebook and other places of record. It’s the first step I’m taking to trying to slow/stop these thoughts in the first place, and it’s been way harder than I expected.

That said, some things just need to be said.

I very much dislike strappy sandals with clunky heels in the workplace. Not sorry.

I need to caveat this with the following:

  • I HATE feet. I have an anti-foot fetish, if there is something like that. Keep them away from me. I don’t want to touch anyone else’s, I hardly even want to touch my own. 
  • I am the type who compulsively wears pearls everywhere (even to the gym, I’m sorry), and while my workplace attire can sometimes be relaxed, it’s close-toed shoes all the way. I hardly ever wear peep toes, much less anything else along those lines.

So, they’re not my style. Do I judge those who decide to wear them? If you work them and they work with your outfit, of course not! If your toes look nasty and they look like a rough add-on … yes. They didn’t look good when we were headed to prom in high school (early 2000s) and I just don’t think they look good now.

I don’t know why I’ve never told anyone this before. I know I don’t want people to think I judge them, as I try not to be judgmental of others. This is just one of those things that sticks in my craw! I figured I might as well try and come to peace with it instead of stifling the little voice in my head that screams every time I see these shoes recommended on a fashion blog.

It feels strangely good to get that off my chest. Back to positivism!

Currently loving: This mug from anthropologie one of my supervisors got for me for Christmas (I was also thrilled to see it all over  Pinterest after I’d already received it … THAT NEVER HAPPENS), dystopian novels (this list from Healthy Tipping Point is a great starting point) and the Seahawks. Not to be a frothing-mouth fan, but DAT GAME on Sunday. (Well, the second half, at least.)

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.