Lexd's Blog

I write about what I want!

Pantry audit and shopping lesson! February 18, 2009

Filed under: food — lexd @ 5:22 pm

About an hour ago, I got out of a brief meeting with Amy Posnack, who I’ve been following on Twitter (@amyposnack) for quite some time. Amy’s getting a consulting business of sorts off the ground … but it’s not your average consulting firm. 

Amy is literally a human wiki for food and nutrition — not only in that she knows SO MUCH (off the top of her head!), but that she’s able to translate that information into something that means something to the rest of us (no crazy long words). That being said, her business is actually consulting people on shopping decisions. She’s one of those awesome people who will help you fix your pantry, and then how to refill it with good-for-you stuff, basically. 

AND, she’s looking for “test cases”! She offered to help me go through my pantry and then be my shopping buddy at the mothership Publix on LMB … all free of charge. I am STOKED. 

See, I think I’m pretty savvy when it comes to this stuff. I have a good idea of what I should be eating, but I think this is going to be a solid test for that knowledge base. And, I think it’s way less likely that I’ll give into my weakness for crappy cereal if she’s there with me. 

I’m thinking bf will not be super excited about this. He’s been talking about eating better, losing weight, going to the gym etc…. but he definitely brought home girlscout cookies last week. I figured he doesn’t have to come along if he doesn’t want to, but I think this is a fantastic opportunity to take advantage of Amy’s knowledge and make some basic changes in the way we eat. SO EXCITED!

 

 

Leave a Reply

