Lexd's Blog

I write about what I want!

Day 4 Menu November 11, 2009

Filed under: food — lexd @ 4:23 pm
Tags: ,

I’ll be honest. I slipped yesterday accidentally, and then slipped a little more intentionally at dinner. The beans were an honest mistake yesterday at lunch, but I went to a sushi place with a friend for dinner … and was overwhelmed.

This particular sushi restaurant (Fuji Sushi near Waterford Lakes for any Orlando-ites reading) has an enormous selection of rolls, and I’m pretty adventurous, so I was pretty excited. I came in to the restaurant knowing that I had to avoid anything fried or tempura-ed, which I accepted. Besides, why eat sushi that’s cooked? 🙂

But then I didn’t think about the sauces: What is in eel sauce? What kind of sauce do they use on their seaweed salad?

I got overwhelmed and we were on a time crunch, so one of my rolls had eel sauce, and the other had seaweed salad, and then I had a piece of my friend’s sushi, which had tempura-ed shrimp. That was the intentional part.

Fail.

I wasn’t sure if I should title this blog post “Day 4” or “Day 1” … and then decided that screw-up or not, today is the 4th day of my gluten-free test period. There were bound to be mistakes made. So “Day 4” it is. I was disappointed with myself yesterday, but today is a new day, and I’ve been on-track so far.

Today’s food plan:

Breakfast: 2 eggs, fried in 1 tsp olive oil, 1 glass water

Snack: 1 huge mug decaf green tea (GoodEarth is my FAVORITE)

Lunch: Salad with romaine lettuce, black beans, garbanzo beans, corn, carrots and grilled chicken, with salsa as the dressing

Snack: 2 carrots, 100-cal popcorn package

Dinner: I’m hoping to make Shepherd’s Pie with the awful leftover potroast I made Sunday night, but BF is home today. We’ll see what he comes up with.

I am heading to the store at lunch to pick up a few things I really need to get me through to Saturday (breakfast foods like cereal and GF oats and soymilk, fruit), when I’m planning a trip down to the huge Whole Foods on Sand Lake here in Orlando. I have some coupons ready so that I can start replacing pantry staples w/GF stuff, and make this a little easier on myself.

 

Leave a Reply

