Lexd's Blog

I write about what I want!

Day 6 November 13, 2009

Filed under: food — lexd @ 8:23 pm
Tags: ,

To start, I know it’s both Friday the 13th and the end of one of my roughest weeks in a while. Also, it’s my 5-year anniversary with BF. He knows me so well by this point — he sent me 2 DOZEN red roses, a nice note, and bought me Super Mario Bros. Wii. Best gifts ever. I have the Bonefish gluten-free menu up right now, and am pre-selecting what I’m going to eat this evening, so I can just order it, enjoy it, and not be worried.

I have a question for anyone who’s been gluten-free for a while … when you go to restaurants, do you let your server know you can’t eat gluten, or do you try and select something off the menu yourself? I would rather not have to announce it every time (because I doubt I have a super-severe allergy or anything, more along the lines of intolerance), but I would hate to inadvertently eat gluten when I’m trying so hard not to.

I also decided that I am going to have a cupcake exchange this holiday season in lieu of a Christmas party. This might sound sadistic, given that I probably won’t be able to eat anyone’s cupcakes but my own (I’m totally making gluten-free ones, woot!), but I enjoy baking and collecting recipes so much, I think it will be fun regardless.

And there will be wine.

Food for today:

Breakfast: ~1/2 c. Bob’s Red Mill Mighty Tasty Hot Cereal with Publix shredded coconut, almond breeze and flax seeds

Lunch: Sushi! 1 salmon roll, 1 dynamite roll (grilled whitefish, avocado, ff eggs) and a huge pile of pickled ginger. Yum 🙂

Dinner: Bonefish! Probably fish with one of their yummy-looking GF sauces, and all their sides are GF … I’m kind of thinking jasmine rice and some veg. Even better, they have a flourless chocolate cake on their dessert menu … GF all the way.

Check out Bonefish’s g-free menu. They do it up pretty well!

Also, no snacks today. I did Meals on Wheels this morning, so I was out of the office until almost 12, and then we went to lunch. Sushi was so filling, so I didn’t have anything extra there.

Bonefish Grill logo from www.bonefishgrill.com

Cupcake photo from clevercupcakes’ Flickr

 

Leave a Reply

