Lexd's Blog

I write about what I want!

Day 6-8 November 16, 2009

Filed under: food — lexd @ 4:20 pm
Tags: ,

Bonefish was delicious. I literally ate everything on my plate, plus 98% of one of their flourless brownies (I thought I left more for BF … oops). Also, it was more reasonably priced than I’d expected. Would go back again, for sure.

This weekend was relatively laid-back. I am really enjoying the mornings here in Orlando right now. We’ve been sleeping with the bedroom windows open, and the cool breeze that wafts in during the early morning hours is divine.

I went to Whole Foods (albeit the smaller one in the Orlando area, in Winter Park) to stock up on g-free essentials, and was disappointed with the selection (ie – there were super fancy soy sauces, but no gluten-free ones?). Maybe the larger one at Phillips Crossing would have been better. Sometimes I can’t help but feel like Whole Foods is straying into the super-yuppie, instead of doing what it used to do best — helping people who needed a wider variety of diet choices.

I did, however, pick up some brown rice pasta, bread mix, all-purpose flour and pizza dough mixes, and arborio rice. Yesterday in Publix I saw that their gourmet mushroom mix is on sale 2 for $5, so with those ingredients + Barefoot Contessa’s recipe, I’m going to attempt a wild mushroom risotto later in the week. Wish me luck.

I made the bread mix yesterday, and to my surprise, it turned out really well. It was pretty easy to make (full disclosure: I have a stand mixer), and didn’t take very long, other than the proofing. I sliced it up and froze half for next week, and have 7 slices for this week. The box was only $5 or 6, so I think this is a manageable way to get my bread fix. I also made myself an awesome kale/bean/parsnip soup from this recipe at Phoo-D (I know, it says turnips but I had parsnips to use), and will be eating it for lunch twice this week.

I actually enjoy spending a decent amount of Sundays cooking. Preparing food is Zen work for me. I love it.

BF wanted pizza for dinner yesterday, so I broke out the gluten-free pizza crust mix so I could indulge in my favorite meal ever. It wasn’t too hard to make, but the consistency is SO different than normal pizza dough … it wasn’t even dough (it wouldn’t stay together). It was just super fluffy, so I had to scoop it on a greased/corn-mealed baking sheet and then use a greased spatula to spread it out to the thickness I wanted. It tasted pretty decent. We’ll see how it saves when I eat leftovers … and how the other half of the batter takes to being refrigerated for a few days (the box makes 2 crusts).

The hardest part about this was the timing of BF’s pizza vs. my pizza. I’d gone to Publix to pick up some stuff for the week, and he ordered pizza from Pizza Hut while I was gone. So, it got there just as I was starting my crust — which required almost an hour to proof, and nearly 20 minutes to bake.

So, I was face-to-face with my biggest temptation, PIZZA, as I was struggling to make my own g-free, dairy-free version. It was so hard to not give in and have a slice. I was seriously crabby about it … but the pizza turned out pretty well in the long run. I’m definitely glad I waited instead of splurging and then feeling like crap all night.

Today’s meal plan:

Breakfast: Bob’s Red Mill Hot Cereal, made with vanilla almond breeze, shredded coconut, flax seeds (although my cereal exploded in the microwave this morning. Stupid Monday)

Snack: Good Earth lemongrass green tea, 1 banana

Lunch: Kale, bean and parsnip soup, 1 piece of g-free bread

Snack: 1 Fuji apple w/natural crunchy peanut butter (the kind you have to stir, yum!), maybe a 100-cal bag of smart pop if I’m starving

Dinner: Salad with a variety of toppings, and probably 2 glasses of wine (book club night!!!)

risotto photo from bloggyboulga’s Flickr

pizza photo from thepizzareview’s Flickr

 

Leave a Reply

