Lexd's Blog

I write about what I want!

Day 9 November 17, 2009

Filed under: food — lexd @ 7:22 pm
Tags: ,

I’ve been pondering over the test results I got over the phone yesterday (although I have yet to get anything in person, grumble grumble). When it comes down to it, I am glad I’m celiac-free. As twisted as it sounds, h. pylori would have been okay, because really, you just take a bunch of antibiotics and are done with it.

But at this point, here’s what I’m thinking: I do feel better not eating gluten and lactose. And at this point, 9 days into it, I’m starting to discover that it’s not the end of the world. I can still have bread, pizza, cookies, cereal, oatmeal, etc … but I don’t have to always feel like crap anymore.

Plus, if I decide that a particular food is worth feeling like garbage for (I’m looking at you, cannoli, with your gluten-y, lactose-y goodness), I can go for it and know that the discomfort will only be temporary.

I am considering getting tested for food allergies. But, when they do this, are they straight up just testing for allergies, or do they look for food sensitivities as well? I’d just like a little bit of official guidance on what my body would rather I didn’t eat.

So, I’m still eating gluten-free, per the plan. With a little effort and planning (and understanding friends and family), it’s do-able. Although the beer thing might be a problem (so says the 6-pack of Shipyard Pumpkinhead Ale in my fridge).

Today’s eats:

Breakfast: Panda puffs, almond milk

Snack: Lemongrass decaf green tea, 1 banana + peanut butter

Lunch: Ethos tofu coconut curry wrap, pineapple and a chocolate chip cookie (yum yum and yum. Although the wrap itself left something to be desired)

Snack: Apple and peanut butter

Dinner: No cooking risotto tonight. BF and I have work to do (for actual work), which totally sucks. I will be thinking about Borderlands and Mario the whole time 😦 We will probably just have pork chops, a vegetable (I bought green beans and broccolini this weekend), and a salad or rice or something.

cannoli photo from ajagendorf25’s Flickr page

beer photo from bernt rostad’s Flickr page

 

 

Leave a Reply

