Lexd's Blog

I write about what I want!

Day 11 November 19, 2009

Filed under: food — lexd @ 5:43 pm
Tags: ,

So, I’ve come to some conclusions recently.

First of all, when I went to Ethos on Tuesday with a coworker for lunch, I was an idiot and ordered a cookie with my lunch. This sounds harmless, except that I totally neglected to ask if the cookies were gluten-free.

They weren’t.

I spent the majority of Tuesday evening feeling like total crap (super bloated), and confused as to what triggered these feelings. To my knowledge, I had eaten gluten- and dairy-free the whole day. Except not. That one stupid cookie.

Last night, BF brought home some Publix carrot cake (to my chagrin). I asked him why he did that, since I couldn’t eat it, and he said, “but the doctor said you could!”

This is frustrating. No, I don’t have celiac disease. But yes, obviously my body doesn’t react all that well to gluten. I’m still confused as to where to get tested for gluten sensitivity/intolerance. When I point this out, BF shrugs — he thinks I am kind of a hypochondriac.

So, I had a small piece of carrot cake, and lo and behold … felt like crap after what was actually a wonderful dinner (the risotto turned out FABULOUS!! We are having leftovers tonight).

So, now that I know gluten isn’t so cool with  my body, I’m going to try on some lactose. I’m currently drinking a packet of Oregon Chai’s chai latte mix (there’s powdered milk in there). We’ll see how I do with this, and then with cheese maybe tomorrow. If I can eat cheese again, I think this whole diet-change will be marginally easier.

Also, as a bonus, on Tuesday my Pilates instructor said I had noticeably lost weight – awesome, especially considering I’ve been taking it easier at the gym lately (that will have to change come December, got some lbs to lose before that cruise in January!). I’ll weigh in on Sunday, and see what happens. Even if I’ve lost a 2 pounds, that’s a step in the right direction. With the right diet and consistent exercise, I’ll finally be able to achieve the results I’m looking for 🙂

Today’s meals:

Breakfast: Bob’s Red Mill Mighty Tasty Hot Cereal, shredded coconut, almond breeze, flax; decaf lemongrass green tea

Snack: Banana w/PB, chai tea latte (seriously, I love this stuff)

Lunch: Kale/bean/parsnip soup, 1 slice GF bread

Snack: Apple, w/PB (I may not even need this, b/c of the chai tea latte, I will probably eat lunch kind of late)

Dinner: Pork roast (on sale at Publix! Go BF!), leftover risotto, steamed or sauteed broccolini (haven’t decided yet).

I’ll avoid the cake for dessert tonight, but I am thinking about dropping by Whole Foods or Chamberlain’s to see what they’ve got cooking in the GF desserts section. It’s easier to resist the siren song of Publix carrot cake if I’ve got something else to occupy myself with.

cookie picture from denise cross’ Flickr

cheese picture from cwbuecheler’s Flickr

 

Leave a Reply

