Lexd's Blog

I write about what I want!

Frustration Eminent December 8, 2009

Filed under: other — lexd @ 2:32 pm
Tags: , ,

Recently (as in this morning, as I am battling whatever demon sickness has circulated my office for the last 2 weeks), I got really frustrated with this whole weight loss situation. For the life of me, I can’t figure out why my body won’t let go of weight. On average, I’m consuming between 1,500-2,000 calories a day. I eat really well. I didn’t eat dairy for almost an entire year, and didn’t lose any weight. I eliminated gluten from my diet, which helped my body digest food better, but I still have yet to see any physical results from that. I take vitamins. I work out between 5-7 days a week, and at least 3 of these are 45 -60 minutes of spinning … and I have been doing this since September 1. My spinning instructors estimate these classes burn between 500-800 calories a session. I am not exaggerating these claims, which is why I’m really frustrated.

Will someone please tell me what the fuck is going on? I’ve made serious lifestyle changes AND I HAVEN’T LOST A POUND. Literally, not one pound. My belly is slowly going away, but other than that, my clothes fit no differently today than they did back in August.

At this point, I’m running out of changes that I can make, and more importantly, maintain. I’m not about to go on some stupid crash diet and make myself miserable, because what’s the point if I’m going to gain it all back?

So, picture me, sick and miserable in bed, feeling every ounce of fat just sitting there grossly in my body (I know this is body snarking, but this is how I get sometimes). My 8:30 “no kids pill” alarm goes off on my cell phone.

Birth control.

At this point, I know I tend to attach myself to potential solutions and convince myself that they are “the answer.” But now that I think about it, I didn’t start taking this particular birth control regularly until I moved down to Florida. Since I moved here, I have not been able to fit into jeans that used to be comfortable for me. Sure, I started a sedentary job, didn’t work out for a while, and started eating differently. I imagine this really contributed to my weight gain. But it makes sense to me that a pill that tricks my body into thinking I’m in the early stages of pregnancy makes my body think that gaining weight is good … and losing it is bad.

I’m currently taking microgestin 1/20. I am pretty moody on it, but I’ve never not been moody on birth control. I’ve been on ortho cyclen, the patch (AWFUL), ortho tri lo, and the ring, so I think it makes sense to say that I’m not super interested in trying to find a different BC right now.

I haven’t talked to BF about it, but I think it’s important to at least let him know what I’m thinking. I hope he’ll be supportive. He knows how hard I’m working and how frustrated I am about my weight.

I have 2 weeks left on my current pill pack, so I’ll finish out this cycle and then stop taking it after that (if you are stopping birth control, unless your doctor tells you otherwise, it’s important to let your body finish cycles!!). I’ll re-assess in spring of next year.

 

Leave a Reply

