Lexd's Blog

I write about what I want!

Where did December go?! December 10, 2009

Filed under: other — lexd @ 2:34 pm
Tags: ,

Today I realized that there are only 15 days until Christmas. I have only bought gifts for two of my siblings … and nobody else. I have grand plans to put together that basket for BF’s parents this weekend (as well as bake cookies) … but I’m running short on shipping days prior to the big 2-5.

I haven’t bought anything for BF yet. He has stubbornly refused to give any indication of anything he wants for Christmas (although oddly enough, he insists the “wish list” I gave him for me isn’t complete enough). I did a brain dump the other day on Google Docs and think I have enough ideas to get me through. I’m missing that “clutch” present, though.

Ideally we’re spending no more than $200 on each other … mostly one “big” gift and then our stockings.

Here’s where I run into some problems … he repeatedly talks about how we’re “overstimulated.” I agree wholeheartedly with this. We have more video games than we can handle … plus DVR, premium cable, Netflix and his GameFly account.

Ridiculous, I know.

So, that pretty much eliminates media as far as gifts go (ugh, that was always such an easy way out). I know he needs new clothes (that’s a suggestion I’m sending to my mom for him), but he keeps talking about “what if I don’t need these types of clothes for my next job.”

To be honest, that’s something I really doubt. I keep telling him I think he’d be great in a sales capacity. It meets many of the criteria he’s come up with in the last 3 years for an “ideal” job.

That’s neither here nor there, though. Maybe a tie will do.

There’s always underwear, belts and socks, but that’s so boring. Since we’re only spending $200 on each other, I am loathe to devote any of that to something as utilitarian as underwear.

Also, I am tired of buying him Yankees stuff. We have so much memorabilia in our tiny apartment, it’s nuts. Seriously, blankets, pillows, ornaments, action figures, signed cards, photos, signs … we even took the Yankees beer bottles we drank out of at a bar in the Bronx home. They are on a shelf near our television.

So, at this point, I’m looking at gifts that must meet the following criteria:

  • No movies
  • No video games
  • No underwear
  • Not too much clothing
  • No Yankees gear

Any ideas for me? I need help!

gift photo from mysza831’s Flickr

yankee photo from eric beato’s Flickr


 

Leave a Reply

