Lexd's Blog

I write about what I want!

Best Games of All Time … According to Everyone Else December 16, 2009

Filed under: gaming — lexd @ 6:45 pm
Tags: ,

I read a lot about video games. I normally focus on sites targeting all levels of gamers, including big ones like Kotaku and Gossip Gamers. Additionally, I really try hard to read Gamasutra (which focuses more on the business side of making video games). Given that I have little to no experience doing anything besides playing video games, the subject matter goes over my head, but I find it fascinating regardless. (If you want to see some of the other sites I go to for VG knowledge, check out my blogroll.)

Recently, I’ve noticed that there are a handful of games that just keep coming up … and they’re nothing new. In fact, some of them are from as long as a decade ago. The problem is that I haven’t played them.

These are games that some people hail as classics, that defined a variety of genres in the video game world. People who I respect (like Leigh Alexander, for instance) really, really like these games, and often use them as points of comparison in their writing. This makes me mad, because then I have no point of reference. And I feel like less of a gamer.

So begins my research for what might be my most superfluous New Years resolution ever: PLAY THESE GAMES. Become more well-rounded, more well-versed.

I’m basically reviewing “top games” lists in order to cobble together a “to do” list for my gaming systems in 2010 (I can’t afford to buy a PS3, so no Uncharted 2 for me). Here’s the hit list so far:

  • Super Mario Galaxy
  • Resident Evil  (I’ve actually never played any Resident Evil games)
  • Shadow of the Colossus
  • Ico
  • Metal Gear Solid (I’ve … never played a MGS game before, either)
  • Metroid (again, another franchise I’ve never played)
  • God of War
  • Half Life (and 2)
  • Tales of Symphonia
  • The Darkness (Mitch Krpata’s review over at Insult Swordfighting made me put this game on my list)
  • Suikoden
  • Persona 3
  • Mass Effect
  • Xenogears
  • Knights of the Old Republic (I’ve just started this)
  • Dragon Quest VIII
  • Portal
  • Fire Emblem
  • Castlevania: Symphony of the Night

Also, I haven’t given PC gaming a fair chance (with the notable exception of the Sims franchise) since about 3rd grade with Phantasmagoria. Here’s some games I’d like to try (especially because I share a 360 and sometimes I just don’t feel like fighting that battle):

  • Starcraft
  • Diablo II
  • Baldur’s Gate II
  • Thief
  • Deus Ex

Hot damn that is a lot of gaming. It’s too bad I canceled my GameFly account … I could probably save some serious cash that way. I may have to get that thing going again.

Well, as soon as I beat Borderlands. Priorities, people.

Any to add to my list?

Giving credit where credit is due, I pulled these suggestions from lists created by IGN, VGC and AV Club

games image from freespamfree’s Flickr

 

Leave a Reply

