Lexd's Blog

I write about what I want!

Is this proof of my lifestyle change? January 25, 2010

Filed under: food — lexd @ 7:40 pm
Tags: ,

If you were within earshot of me in the last three weeks (or you check Facebook at all), you probably knew that I was on a Caribbean cruise last week. It was pretty cool. Except Carnival kind of sucks. More on that in another post.

Last week was also my unofficial “end date” for this diet/exercise effort I’ve been making over the last few months. Cruise = lots of bathing suit time, see. I didn’t really lose any weight, unfortunately. We’ll see if that changes in coming months (more diet tweaking to come).

What I did want to write about was the fact that apparently even new habits die hard. I’ve been pretty focused on my diet and exercise over the past few months, with my eye on last week as the end date.

What did I want to do right when we got home last night? Head to Publix and pick up some healthy food for the week. So I had a smoothie this morning for breakfast. To try and eliminate more dairy from my diet, I picked up some brown rice protein powder at Chamberlain’s at lunch, and this yummy mango coconut water (it’s like a sports drink but with 40 calories instead of 200) for when I work out. And, when I got up this morning, I planned my workouts for the week. I am taking on Fitnessista‘s Winter Shape Up Challenge to see if I can get my butt in gear by doing some weight training.

Looks like I’m hitting the gym tomorrow night, Friday night and Sunday (the workouts are supposed to be on non-consecutive days).

That being said, I’m pretty impressed that the cruise is over and I still feel 100% committed to doing better by my body. I guess that’s what they call a lifestyle change … when you don’t have to force yourself to do it anymore. You just do it because it comes naturally, and because that’s what you want to do.

image from lepiaf.geo’s photostream

 

Leave a Reply

