Lexd's Blog

I write about what I want!

My name is Lex … February 3, 2010

Filed under: gaming,rant — lexd @ 8:26 pm
Tags: , , ,

… and I have gamer ADD.

At any given time, I’m playing between 5 and 10 games simultaneously.

This sounds absolutely crazy (and even worse, sounds like I’m living in my parents’ basement, just gaming all the time), but it’s true. Currently, I’m in the middle of:

  • Machinarium
  • Arkham Asylum
  • Final Fantasy X
  • KOTOR
  • Phoenix Wright: Justice for All
  • Legend of Zelda: Spirit Tracks
  • Bowser’s Inside Story
  • New Super Mario Bros. Wii
  • Scribblenauts

I define “current” games as those that I play at least once every two weeks.

Holy shit guys, I need help.

I’ve always known that I’m a multitasker. It’s why I work well at an agency. I’m always doing at least 3 things at once. I regularly keep at least 5 windows open in each browser I’m putzing around in. I’m reading 3 books right now. BF and I are watching about 4 TV series right now.

But 8 games? I know I don’t have a lot of free time, but you’d think that would make me commit to one game before starting another. But no. I’m like a kid in the proverbial candy store, just playing EVERYTHING I have in my grubby little hands and then tossing it aside for the next yummy-looking thing.

My friend also just pointed out that I haven’t beaten 2 of my top favorite games of all time: Fallout 3 and Oblivion. Before you start laughing, I’d like to point out that I’ve put more than 120 hours into Oblivion and nearly 80 into Fallout, so it’s not like I played for 5 minutes to say that I played them and then moved on.

This has dealt a serious blow to what I feel was a pretty solid gamer status. My confidence is shaken.

Someone else please tell me they do this, too. I need to feel less crappy about my gaming habits!

image from henry9112

 

Leave a Reply

