Lexd's Blog

I write about what I want!

Miracle in a glass February 13, 2010

Filed under: food — lexd @ 12:20 am
Tags: , ,

Finally went to the gym for the first time since Tuesday (eek!), felt awesome. I probably should have gone the day I wrote about that case of the blahs … endorphins are wonderful things.

I don’t have very long before my hot date with the Olympic opening ceremonies (gosh, aren’t I cool, on a Friday night and all), but I wanted to share the creation I just made in the Ninja.

So, I’ve been reading that after you do any sort of weightlifting (where you’re stressing the muscles, breaking them down so they’ll rebuild stronger, etc), you should have some protein 30-60 minutes post workout.

Because I was too lazy to go and get fruit or something else acceptable (although you know I stopped at the Publix liquor store for a bottle of wine … priorities, people), I decided to get a little crazy and work with what I have in my kitchen.

Behold, chocolate banana milk:

  • Banana (mine was frozen. I also learned the valuable lesson of “peel bananas before you freeze them”)
  • 1 c. unsweetened plain almond milk
  • 1 T. vanilla-flavored brown rice protein powder
  • 1/2 T. unsweetened cocoa powder

Blend. It’s freaking awesome.

Not sure if I’ll be hungry for the rest of my homemade burrito bowl tonight (my eating schedule was all kinds of crazy today), but I’m definitely popping some popcorn from scratch later! If that goes awry, I’ll have a good story. And maybe even pics! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

