Lexd's Blog

I write about what I want!

Shaking up breakfast February 19, 2010

Filed under: food — lexd @ 3:39 pm
Tags:

Wednesday morning, I faced a serious issue: I didn’t have any peaches to put in my normal breakfast smoothie. Yes, I could have gone with just a banana. I know that. But I was disappointed.

So, I decided to shake things up a little bit and have oatmeal instead (I know, I’m such a rebel).

But instead of having boring oatmeal, I decided to have oatmeal so exciting that I’ve eaten it every morning since Wednesday. Yes, I get into morning ruts. I know this.

It’s really easy to make, even if you don’t have much time in the morning … set the water up to boil (usually I pack my gym bag while this is happening), and when it does, dump the oats in and stir for 1 min. Then plop the lid back on and leave it off the heat (right after this is usually when I actually get ready). When I’m ready, all I have to do is stir some almond milk, protein powder and flax into the ready-to-eat oatmeal, and then either chow down there or bring it to work.

Oatmeal

1 c. water

1/2 c. quick-cooking oats (I KNOW I SHOULD BE EATING ROLLED OATS)

1/2 T. protein powder

1/2 T. flax seeds

1/2-3/4 c. unsweetened vanilla almond milk

banana

goji berries

Prepare the oatmeal as directed, and stir in the milk, seeds and powder. Layer slices of banana and some of the goji berries, top with oatmeal, and repeat until you’re out of produce and oatmeal. Top with some more milk. Yum.

PS – At Whole Foods yesterday, I picked up a solid lb of Coho salmon. And I am going to eat the #&*$ out of it this weekend. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

