Lexd's Blog

I write about what I want!

Healthy dessert alternatives February 24, 2010

Filed under: food — lexd @ 4:37 pm
Tags:

Yeah, that’s right. I haven’t been to the gym since last Thursday (although I am wicked sore from that impromptu leg workout on Monday). AND I’m a dessert-a-holic right now.

You know why I think this is? PMS, baby.

I try not to feel guilty about what I eat. Instead, I try and listen to what my body wants, and if it screams “CHOCOLATEY CARBS PLZ” I try and sate that craving while not ingesting an entire pan of brownies.

Chocolate cravings are generally rewarded with a square of dark chocolate … the darker the better. I find if I try some of that ridiculous 99% cacao chocolate, I won’t want it again for a few weeks. They’re not screwing around. It’s serious chocolate.

Chocolate carb cravings I’ve been able to handle by putting together the following plate of deliciousness inspired by both my friend and Arrested Development:

Choco-PB banana

1 banana

1 tsp. peanut butter

1 tbsp. chocolate

Stick a peeled banana in the freezer for at least 45 minutes. You can even put a chopstick/skewer in it first if you’re feeling that vibe. I usually just eat mine off a plate WITH MY HANDS (yep).

When it’s good and frozen, combine the peanut butter and the chocolate (I use semi-sweet chocolate chips, usually) you have. Put ’em in a microwavable dish and microwave for about 25 seconds, stirring once along the way. It’s really easy to burn this, so take it easy! If the chocolate is soft, the lumps will melt as you stir them.

Pour this mixture over said frozen banana, and stick it back in the freezer for about 10 minutes. You can also add chopped nuts, sprinkles, etc at this point if you want to get fancy.

Then, EAT. It’s carbs (banana) and chocolate … and depending on the size of your banana, it’s around 200 calories! For dessert. Now, doesn’t that taste better (and more satisfying) than two crappy lo-sugar lo-fat diet cookies?! Tell me it doesn’t. I dare you.

My other recent “EUREKA” moment came when I was craving salty and sweet the other night (this happens all the freaking time). Behold:

Saltysweet popcorn

~1/4 c. popcorn kernels, popped with ~1.5 tbsp vegetable/canola oil

~1 tsp sea salt

~2-3 tbsp butterscotch chips

If you haven’t ever popped popcorn from scratch, do yourself a favor and try it just once. A huge bag of kernels is between $2 and 4, or you can get just enough to try it out from a bulk bin. It is SO worth it.

Mix all of the ingredients. If you want, you can melt a little butter and toss it with everything to get the salt to stick more, but I find it works just fine without.

Eat. It’s an amazing mix of super sweet, deliciously salty and crunchy. This dessert is a little more robust at ~330 calories, but you probably won’t have to do much to convince someone to share it with you.

 

Leave a Reply

