Lexd's Blog

I write about what I want!

PDA April 15, 2010

Filed under: other,rant — lexd @ 6:10 pm
Tags: , ,

Sorry for the gap in posting. In truth, I did write a post earlier this week, but it ended up being pretty personal, so I haven’t published it yet. It felt really good to write, though … so something good came of it (although no reading material, sorry).

I wanted to broach the subject of PDA (actually, more just physical affection in general). In my totally unscientific studies, I’ve found that PDA is something people either hate with the fire of a thousand suns, or are 100% cool with. There is no gray area with PDA.

I fall in the former group. I think PDA is pretty gross. I’m not talking about holding hands, I’m talking about full-on making out, any open-mouth kissing, or (God forbid) anything beyond that. Please, do it elsewhere. Nobody actually wants to look at it, because the couples who see you wish you wouldn’t give couples a bad name, and the single people just want to kill you.

I have been this way my entire life, but it used to apply to all affection. Growing up, I was never a hugger, or a snuggler. However, I definitely used to get in on my mom’s back-scratches (moms always give the best ones, I am 25 and unashamed to say I still ask for them when I go home). I was this way with boyfriends — no cuddles, please.

I’ve noticed that this has changed significantly over the past few years. I now look forward to kisses from BF, and if I could get away with snuggling 3x/week, I TOTALLY would. And I love BF hugs. Maybe it’s because I like him. I want to be close to him.

OR, maybe it’s because most of the time he wants no part of this. Most of the time, I do not get kisses every day, or hugs, or snuggles (especially if I don’t initiate any of them). He is anti-PDA like me … but he is also far less physically affectionate. This often leads to a crabby Lex, and when it comes to this kind of stuff, I am not shy about laying on the guilt. In my mind, it takes a split second to kiss me. That split second is guaranteed to put me in a good mood for at least 5-10 minutes. Just sayin’.

Anyway, I was thinking about it today, and thought it was odd that I’ve changed my stance on affection so much since childhood. Am I the only one who’s done an about-face on this?

Currently loving: The soundtrack to Braid, the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo movie, the picture on this post

image: ganesha.isis

 

Leave a Reply

