Lexd's Blog

I write about what I want!

Ninja soreness April 22, 2010

Filed under: other — lexd @ 2:05 pm
Tags:

So I managed to tweak my knee at the end of last week and really make it worse by going to the gym on Sunday. In my defense, I stopped running when the pain got bad. Since the rainy season is upon us, however, I am trying to check out new gyms so that I can continue to exercise after work. (For non-Floridians, the rainy season involves heavy downpours anywhere between 3-6 pm … hence my prime workout time.)

I’ve been really good, using Traumeel and Tiger Balm, icing, the whole nine yards. On Tuesday I went to the weekly Pilates class my employer pays for, after an email to the instructor about how I didn’t want to do anything that could tweak my knee. So, we did 45 minutes of hardcore abdominal work.

Yesterday I was pleasantly surprised to not be sore at all. I know I’ve been exercising and working on my core, so I was feeling pretty badass (you know, that “I guess my hard work has been paying off, ho ho ho” feeling.)

And then I woke up this morning and cried a little when I tried to get out of bed. I’m usually more sore the second day after working out hard, but I’m usually at least a little stiff the day after. I was totally unprepared. My shoulders, hips and entire core are burning every time I try and move. I sincerely hope I don’t have to sneeze or laugh unexpectedly today.

Currently loving: Dune Messiah, Clapton Unplugged, this Napoleon Dynamite flipbook I just found on my desk! 🙂

image from jonathanb1989

 

Leave a Reply

