Lexd's Blog

I write about what I want!

Private Dancer May 12, 2010

Filed under: other — lexd @ 3:28 pm
Tags: , , ,

If you know me at all, you won’t be surprised … but I took a pole dancing class last night.

AND I FREAKING LOVED IT (if you know me at all you won’t be surprised by this, either).

A few friends and I took a private class at a local dance studio. I think we were all sort of nervous, but it was a perfect group. The hour-long class was a mix of silliness, sexiness and spazziness. Our instructor, Paradise, was a total badass and helped us all get out of our shells a little bit — and provided great music!

We learned a few basic moves and had fun putting them together in basic routines. I only wish I’d worn the heels I brought!

Sexiness aside, it’s as hard as everyone says it is. Not at first, necessarily, but when your shoulders and thighs start to hurt (because really, who uses these muscles in this way on a regular basis), it becomes a real challenge to maintain form. I was definitely sweating by the time class was over.

I think it makes a big difference who you go with. If I went alone and was in a class with strangers, I don’t think I would have been quite as uninhibited. But, surrounded by hilarious friends and a great instructor, I had SO MUCH FUN. I maintain that every girl should try it out at least once. It’s pretty rewarding to see the instructor do a fabulous move … and then pull it off yourself!

We made an executive decision on the spot to go back for another class. And yes, there are pictures (and video! I can never run for office now).

image from litonali. No, that is not me in the picture

 

2 Responses to “Private Dancer”

  1. peanutbutterfingers Says:

    haha i love the disclaimer under that image… i bet it secretly is you, you talented pole dancer. 😉

    • lexd Says:

      Got me … 😉

      I WISH I was that good! Well, sort of. I think it would be kind of an awkward talent to have! Break it out at the bars … “hey guys, watch this…”


Leave a Reply

