Lexd's Blog

I write about what I want!

Boys’ Club May 25, 2010

Filed under: other — lexd @ 5:36 pm
Tags: , ,

I’ve found that I always feel better about something once I’ve taken action. I know some people who are more content to sit in complacency about a problem, but fortunately, that’s not my style. In fact, I don’t know how they can stand it.

That being said, I went to the gym last night (after dinner, which is pretty much crazy for me). I stuck to the trainer’s recommendation of 20-30 minutes of cardio (while watching DWTS, Nicole is on fiyah!) and then proceeded downstairs to get my lift on.

Now, I’ve been a member of a number of gyms, but I have never in my life seen a racking problem like the one that exists at my new gym. The free weight area was packed (even at 8:45 at night!), and nothing under 45 lbs was racked. Clearly, that doesn’t do me a lot of good. I didn’t feel like searching among all the sweaty dudes for something in the 10-20 lb range, so I [grudgingly] vetoed parts of last night’s Summer Shape Up workout.

Instead, I went for some of the machines that targeted the same muscles, so everything worked out okay. I much prefer free weights, though.

I’ve always been the kind of girl who scoffs at girls who are like, “I can’t go into the free weights area, it’s scary and there’s guys everywhere.” Last night was the first time I actually sympathized with them. It was. So. Intimidating.

I don’t really have any workout buddies to go with … anyone have ideas on how to tackle this? We’ll see how the crowd is tomorrow morning, as well.

image from eyeliam

 

Leave a Reply

