Lexd's Blog

I write about what I want!

Getting back up to speed June 7, 2010

Filed under: other — lexd @ 2:48 pm
Tags: , , ,

It’s been a little crazy lately, but I’m proud to announce that Kirby the corgi is back at home, rocking the three-legged/cone-headed look like he was born to do it. There was a scare on Saturday (his kidneys stopped working and they had to put him on a dialysis machine), but he rallied like the stubborn pup he is. I talked to Dad_D when he came home yesterday, and he said Kirby already has the stride down. He’ll wear a cone for 2 weeks, when the stitches will finally come off, and his normal badassery will commence. Phew. 🙂

Also, I have finally experienced surfing. A couple friends and I did a team lesson through the Cocoa Beach Ron Jon on Saturday, and it was FANTASTIC. They provided us with long foam boards, rash guards and some basic tips … and we spent the majority of the 2 hour lesson in the water. I’ll be honest, I probably could have used some more time doing pop ups (going from laying on the board to crouching on it) on the beach, but it was HAWT and I couldn’t wait to get in the water. One hour and 15 minutes later, I conquered the board and stood up for the first time! From then on out, I was able to stand every other turn. I got beat up pretty good (lots of sand burns on my knees), but I am so glad I did it. Alas, there are no pictures of us in action. I highly recommend Larry, our instructor. Super chill guy and so supportive even though I was all over the place.

I am pretty sure I need a chiro visit STAT, though.

I am also proud to report that BF is currently really embracing a fitter lifestyle. I’m not sure what changed, but he’s been to the gym 3 times in the last week, and he even got up at 6 am on Sunday to go golfing with some friends. I picked up some chocolate All the Whey protein powder for him last week, and he’s been taking it after every workout … and he just bought 4.4 more lbs on Amazon. He’s even been tracking his eating and water intake through MyPlate. And, I mentioned that I wanted to start trying portobello mushrooms in place of meat in sandwiches, etc … AND HE SAID THAT WAS A GREAT IDEA. (This, coming from a 100% meat and potatoes kid.)

Even after just one week, I can’t tell you how much easier it is to make good decisions about food and exercise when you don’t have to do it on your own. Makes me a happy girl, for sure 🙂

Coming up this week, I’m hosting book club on Tuesday night and hitting up not one but two happy hours on Thursday. And, the Orlando Predators are playing the Spokane arena football team on Saturday, so BF and I are meeting up with some friends. Should make for a good time.

Currently loving: The coworker who brought in The Pioneer Woman’s french breakfast puffs and cheese grits for me!!, how clean my desk was this morning, Last.fm (yes, I am probably the last person to discover this)

surfing image from mikebaird (clearly not me in the image)

 

Leave a Reply

