Lexd's Blog

I write about what I want!

Deep Breathing July 23, 2010

Filed under: other — lexd @ 2:04 pm
Tags: ,

I know, what a stupid title for a post. But seriously, it’s saved my ass over the last couple weeks.

With everything going on at work, at home, in Seattle … it’s been a near-crushing feeling of constant panic for weeks on end. And, at a time in my life when I need things to go well with a minimal amount of attention/pushing, things just keep going wrong.

I’ve been remembering my mantra (“if anything can go well, it will”), which has been helping stem the flow of frustration and (and sometimes anger). But that doesn’t always make it easy to deal with problems as they arise (and as I’m panicking inside).

Instead, I’ve been taking to deep breathing lately. I attribute this mostly to yoga. When something unexpected/unpleasant/annoying happens, I just draw in breath as long as I can through my nose, feel my lungs and diaphragm expand … and then let it out in a big whoosh. It’s kind of noisy, but it really makes me feel better. And that’s what matters right now.

Currently loving: FRIIIIIDAY!, starting work on a new project today and tomorrow, gym date with BF tonight!

 

Leave a Reply

