Lexd's Blog

I write about what I want!

Settling into Seattle August 18, 2010

Filed under: other — lexd @ 3:41 pm
Tags: , , ,

Sorry for the lapse in posting. It’s been mad busy over here, and I’m trying to get about 920375190345 things done before BF flies in Saturday morning. 😀

So, it’s been a week since I landed here in Seattle, with no plans to leave again in the forseeable future. The weather has been blindingly fabulous (high 80s and even into the 90s), my car arrived a-ok last Saturday in time to attend an amazing wedding, and I started my freelancing gig.

I am cynically aware that I am still in the honeymooning period … but I am very happy right now. In fact, I’m happier than I’ve been in months. I haven’t had a nightmare since I got here (these used to be nightly occurrences). I can’t quite explain it except to say that it feels like I don’t have a giant “to do” list hanging over my head all the time, guilting me if I decide to do something fun.

That’s not to say I don’t have stuff to do.

Our household goods/furniture are slated to get in tomorrow or Friday. Getting it all in the storage unit could be interesting (maybe a little like Tetris), but it’ll work out.

DID YOU SEE WHAT I JUST WROTE? “It’ll work out.” Who is this girl and what did she do with Lex? 🙂

In the past week, I’ve made an awesome dinner for my family, we’ve dined alfresco more than once, I’ve drank great beer (and $2 Chuck), visited Trader Joe’s, exercised every day, seen friends from college, friends from high school, and friends from even further back. I’ve laughed so hard I almost peed (true story, Outburst is a hilarious game when played with the right people). I’ve seen Mt. Rainier in the distance wherever I drive (INCREDIBLE). I’ve grinned as I saw the Space Needle from I-5. I’ve smelled the briny air down by the piers, walked around downtown Seattle, and attended a great independent theater event. We walked to dinner beforehand, and we took the bus to the event. Right now I am seated at the kitchen table in a quiet house, with the door open and a breeze carrying the 60-degree air is blowing past me. It feels a little heavy — it’s overcast and I think today might bring some rain — but it’s really refreshing. I am snuggled into a fleece and drinking coffee, ready to start being productive.

Goddamn, I missed Seattle.

Currently loving: this Columbia fleece I “found” (and by “found” I mean “stole from my sister”), Eat, Drink and Be Vegan, “The Salon of Shame” (aka where I was last night)

image “Seattle from Alki” from .Bala (who has incredible photography, BTW)

 

2 Responses to “Settling into Seattle”

  1. loriemichelle Says:

    I’ve always wanted to visit Seattle and after reading your blog…I am convinced that I have to see it! Sounds like an amazing place.

    • lexd Says:

      Hooray! Seattle is a wonderful area, and I love LOVE to show it off. If you find yourself heading up this way, I’d be happy to suggest some places to check out, restaurants to eat at, etc.!

      Thanks for reading 🙂


Leave a Reply

