Lexd's Blog

I write about what I want!

Bring on the positive! January 31, 2011

Filed under: other — lexd @ 7:51 pm
Tags: , ,

While a blog post drought is no way to start off the year, I didn’t feel very good about any of the posts I (tried) to put together over the last month. And I mean that very literally. After writing, and then reviewing my work (all my English teachers would be so proud), I was just left with an icky feeling. I’d start strong (and interesting, I like to think), but by the end it just ended up spiraling into something negative.

The biggest indicator that something wasn’t right was that I had a hard time coming up with stuff that I was “Currently Loving.” Seriously not cool.

There’s been a whole lot of not-fun stuff going on, and it takes a lot of energy for me to stay positive in my interactions with others in the face of it. And, to stay positive to myself (although this tends to slip). Clearly that was manifesting itself in my writing, so I just nixed it for the time being, and figured I’d know when I had things swinging in the right direction again.

Things are still not 100% peachy-keen, but I’m starting to feel at peace with things. As Epictetus says, “It’s not what happens to you, but how you react to it that matters.” I have no idea who Epictetus is/was, but I really enjoy his way of thinking.

That being said, watch me turn some negatives into positives! 😀

 

-I haven’t been to the gym regularly since 2010. Waiting for machines makes me really crabby. I’m taking this opportunity to really take in to account what I put into my body. It’s been pretty illuminating. I’m also taking this opportunity to get back into yoga with YogaDownload.com. They have cool podcasts using weights and focusing on cardio!


-For some reason I am less excited about food than normal. Again, this is really good timing for me. Without the usual urges/cravings, I’ve been able to eat pretty clean and identify what foods make me feel good (and those that make me feel not so good).

 

-Cabin fever is starting to set in at home, and we are all really rubbing each other the wrong way. While I don’t want to air my family’s dirty laundry, there are a few specific things that are going on right now that are exacerbating the situation. This sounds terrible, but since home isn’t always a 100% fun place to be, I am reaching out to friends again for happy hours and weekend adventures. I haven’t seen most people for 3-4 weeks, and I miss them! They are a big part of the reason I moved here, after all.

 

-I really, really REALLY REALLY miss BF. This period of separation has been so much harder than any we’ve been through before … probably because we built a life together, and I saw him pretty much every day for three years. I did the math last week, and if I continue with my current income/saving pattern, I will be out of credit card debt by mid-March and have more in my savings account than I’ve had since high school. As you can imagine, that sets us up pretty solid for when BF moves up here.

 

-Taxes are going to be a &%*$# this year. I have 3 W-2s to file, and 1 1099. And, I will probably be paying a LOT. I have been saving faithfully since November, and I will be able to cover the taxes, no sweat, even in a “worst case” scenario of having to dish out 20% of what I made while I was freelancing. Plus, after doing the math (see above), I will still be in good shape by the end of April.


Magic, right? 😉 To make up for lost time, here’s a bunch more stuff I’m Currently Loving:

  • Got oil changed in my car: Perfect checkup. And, they vacuumed the floor!
  • Opened at the restaurant on Saturday, got to listen to Radiohead for about 3 hours straight
  • Was told I’m performing very well at the restaurant, I’m a strong, steady go-to worker.
  • Got paperwork from BF to register my car in WA. Let the re-plating process commence!
  • One of my best friends got engaged on Saturday (I screamed when I got the text, and then called her and screamed AGAIN when she picked up, I am such a girl)
  • I bought Kirby’s Epic Yarn – and streamlined my video game to-finish list (it’s kind of intimidating, but I suppose I am up to the challenge) 😉
  • This recipe from Serious Eats. I am definitely making this for the Superbowl.

awesome photo from SFB579. Sunrises/sunsets make me happy, so I figured, “why not?”

 

 

Leave a Reply

