Lexd's Blog

I write about what I want!

Everyone Needs This List February 15, 2011

Filed under: Words of Wisdom — lexd @ 5:23 pm
Tags:

I was going to put up a post about my perpetual frustration with my cowlicks (I have 3), but instead I figured I’d share something that I found on Gina’s Fitnessista blog. It’s a little cheesy, but I bolded a few items that really resonated with me:

Everyone Needs This List

  • The most destructive habit – Worry
  • The greatest joy – Giving
  • The greatest loss – The loss of self-respect
  • The most satisfying work – Helping others
  • The ugliest personality trait – Selfishness
  • The most endangered species – Dedicated leaders
  • Our greatest natural resource – Our youth
  • The greatest shot in the arm – Encouragement
  • The greatest problem to overcome – Fear
  • The most effective sleeping pill – Peace of mind
  • The most crippling failure disease – Excuses
  • The most powerful force in life – Love
  • The most dangerous pariah – A gossiper
  • The world’s most incredible computer – The brain
  • The worst thing to be without – Hope
  • The deadliest weapon – The tongue
  • The two most power-filled words – I Can
  • The greatest asset – Faith
  • The most worthless emotion – Self-pity
  • The most beautiful attire – A Smile
  • The most prized possession – Integrity
  • The most contagious spirit – Enthusiasm

While I’m still dealing with anxiety in a huge way, it’s amazing to me that just about everything has improved since I’ve gotten a better handle on it, and taken steps to reduce the level of anxiety in my life in the first place. No icky ulcers, more energy, less negativity … and I can drink coffee again 🙂

In other happy news, I had a pretty fun minute this morning on the way to work. When I walk to the office, I go by a Maggiano’s, and as I peered in this morning, I saw the ENTIRE crew (like 15 people) do a “go team” group high five and semi-hug. And then I was greeted in the lobby by a Frank Sinatra song. AWESOME.

Hope this day/week bring more positive things your way (and mine)!

Currently Loving: “Rolling in the Deep” by Adele, THIS dress from Rachel Roy, and THIS dress from Suzi Chin. And yeah, I did engage in some retail therapy yesterday after work … it’s a peril of working next door to the mall!

 

Leave a Reply

